Lookingglass Theatre Company

gglassquerade 2019

Routinely heralded as one of the top galas in Chicago, the 2019 Lookingglass gglassquerade celebrates its 31st Season and those making a difference in our community. The funds raised through gglassquerade enable Lookingglass to advance its commitment to the development and production of new theatrical works, and to share the power of creativity with students and community members from disinvested neighborhoods across the city.

Civic Engagement Award Recipients:
Leigh and Henry Bienen
Josephine Lee, President and Artistic Director of the Chicago Children's Choir

Featured presenters:
Patrick G. Ryan, founder and CEO, Ryan Specialty Group and former Board Chair, Northwestern University
Welz Kauffman, President and CEO, Ravinia Festival


Lookingglass Theatre Company, recipient of the 2011 Regional Theatre Tony Award, was founded in 1988 by eight Northwestern University students. Now in its 31st Season,  Lookingglass is home to a multi-disciplined ensemble of artists who create story-centered theatrical work that is physical, aurally rich, and visually metaphoric. The Company has staged 67 world premieres, with many of them going on to subsequent productions around the country and abroad. In recognition of the its legacy of theatrical excellence, Lookingglass received the MacArthur Award for Creative and Effective Institutions in 2016, the 2017 Artistic Achievement Award from the League of Chicago Theatres, and 53 Joseph Jefferson Awards.

The Company continues to expand its artistic and institutional boundaries under the guidance of Artistic Director Heidi Stillman, Executive Director Rachel L. Fink, Producing Director Philip R. Smith, Connectivity and Engagement Director Andrew White, General Manager Michele Anderson, a 24-member multidisciplinary Ensemble, 23 Artistic Associates, and a dedicated board of directors.

Lookingglass Theatre Company

University Club of Chicago